Nissan Trophy Tour flagged off from Dharamsala


  • Trophy embarked on an eight city journey across India
  • Traveled across 11 nations before starting its India journey
  • Nissan Trophy Tour starts the countdown for the ICC World Twenty20 series                                                       

The countdown for the much awaited ICC World Twenty20 2016 tournament began today with Nissan India kick-starting the eight-city tour of the trophy here at Dharamsala.

The Nissan Trophy tour started its India journey by covering a 14 km run between Bhakshu Nath (Mcleodganj) and Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala. The trophy will now leave for Chandigarh.

Arun Malhotra, Managing Director, Nissan Motor India Pvt. Ltd. said, ”Nissan and cricket have a lot in common. Both are about pushing boundaries, inspired team-work and delivering excitement. The ICC World Twenty20 tournament garners a lot of enthusiasm from devotees of the sport the world over. The trophy tour provides a unique opportunity for all fans to get closer to cricket history in the making.”

”Additionally, to celebrate our association with the sport and as a commemorative offering for cricket buffs across the country, we just launched ICC World Twenty20 limited editions of the Micra and Terrano at the just conclued Delhi Auti Expo,” he added.

The Nissan ICC World Twenty20 trophy embarked on its global journey in December 2015. It has visited 11 participating countries around the globe before arriving in India for the final leg of its tour. From Dharmshala, the trophy will travel to seven more cities – including all match venues – and in the process build up excitement for the tournament, which kicks-off on 8th March 2016.

The trophy tour, ahead of the main event, is a part of Nissan’s eight-year deal with International Cricket Council as a global sponsor. The global automaker is sponsoring a host of worldwide tournaments including the ICC Cricket World Cup, ICC Champions Trophy and ICC Twenty20, along with the Under 19 tournament and Women’s cricket.

The countries participating in the Nissan ICC Twenty20 tournament include Scotland, Ireland, England, Netherlands, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Australia and India. The complete tournament schedule can be found at: