Honda Racing head to MMRT leading the National Championship standings; riders all set for Round 4

  • Total of 44 Honda riders from across the country to battle for podium finish in Round 4
  • 20 riders complete the grid for CBR 150R Open championship
  • 15 riders from 3 professional teams to compete in Honda’s flagship CBR 250R Team championship
  • Round 4 of 10th edition Honda One Make Race to be held at Madras Motor Race Track Chennai, from September 7th -10th

Chennai, September 7, 2017: With the excitement at its peak, 2017 MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship moves into its 4th Round this weekend, and never before has the title chase been so closely fought.

After a tough last round, 44 strong Honda Racing contingent is all geared up to fight for dominance at the Madras Motor Race Track across National Championship and Honda One Make Race Championship

Elaborating on the upcoming Round 4, Mr. Prabhu NagarajVice President, Customer Service, Honda Motorcycle and Scooter India Pvt. Ltd. said, “This race is extremely crucial for Honda2Wheeler India team. We want to solidify our position in the championship even further. Achieving the podium finishes in the last round has been extremely encouraging for our riders. With their supreme form they are fully charged and motivated to battle it out again. We are confident that our riders will build on the points lead and keep the winning momentum intact. With the backing of their international learning and superior race machines, this will be a race to watch out for.”

National Motorcycle Racing Championship

The fourth round will witness a total of 44 entries from Honda across categories.

Super Sport 165cc: Honda Racing contingent will be led by Rajiv S (Participant- 250RR ARRC Championship 2017 and Pro-Stock 165 Champion 2016) Mathana Kumar (250R- HOMR Championship 2016) and Hari Krishnan R (First Podium in Round 2 of 250R Asian-level championship 2016).  With 91 points Mathana Kumar stands second on the scoreboard while team-mate Rajiv S continues to lead the scoreboard with 111 points.

Pro Stock 165cc: The grid will witness India’s top notch racing talent including Chennai boys – Mithun, Soorya, B Aravind and Anish D Shetty from Hubli.  Winning four races out of 5, B Aravind leads the Pro-stock tally board with 108 points.

Stock up to 165 (Novice): Arul Kumaran, Amala Jerald and Syed Nawas to represent Honda racing spirit for the first time.

Stock up to 165cc (Girls): The category will be led by Ryhana Bee (Rehana Reya) (Winner- Honda One Make All Ladies Race- 1st Round 2017) and Shruthi N (1st runner up- Honda One Make All Ladies Race – 1st Round 2017).

Honda One Make Championship:

CBR 250R Open Championship: Honda’s flagship race will see nail-biting competition between 15 riders from Apex Racing team and Honda Ten10 Racing team. The grid will boast of India’s stalwart racing talent including Rajiv S, Hari Krishnan R and B Aravind among others.

CBR 150R Novice:  With a packed rider grid, 28 riders who have undergone extensive racing training from Honda Ten10 Racing Academy and other training school recognized by MMSC (Madras Motor Sports Club), to vie for the top-spot.

Honda All Ladies Race:  After the splendid success of the first-ever full-fledged season, 5 woman riders, trained at the Honda Ten10 Racing Academy, will be competing in the Fourth Round of the Honda exclusive women racing event.

Highlights of Round 3:

  • 2 podiums in Super Sports 165cc: Mathana Kumar S (1st – Race 2), Rajiv S. (3rd – Race 2)
  • 1 podiums in Pro-stock 165cc:, B. Aravind (1st Race 2), Soorya (2nd race 2)
  • CBR 250R Open Championship: Hari Krishnan (1st – Race 1) Honda sponsored ARRC rider Rajiv S. (1st – Race 2)
  • CBR 150R Novice Championship: Hyderabad boy Satya Narayana grabbed pole position in Race

Points Table: