Suzuki Concludes First Leg of Gixxer Cup Season 3

New Delhi, July 12th, 2017: Suzuki Motorcycle India Private Limited (SMIPL), a subsidiary of one of the world’s leading two-wheeler manufacturers, Suzuki Motor Corporation, Japan, has successfully concluded the first round of the third season of their hugely successful Suzuki Gixxer Cup.

For the first time, the Gixxer Cup was contested as a part of the JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship, India’s premier motorsports event, under affiliation from the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India. The participants of the ‘JK Tyre presents – Suzuki Gixxer Cup’ have been picked through selection rounds across the country in Bengaluru, Aizawl, Pune and Noida.

The first round, held between the 7th and 9th of July at the Kari Motor Speedway was an adrenaline pumping racing weekend. The championship was welcomed back by the speed fanatics who witnessed an exciting racing display at par with international standards. The races were nail-biting and the fans did not know who was going to be the winner, till the last lap.+

There was a closely contested qualifying race to select the final riders of the two races in each of the categories- JK Tyre – Suzuki Gixxer Cup and Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup. The Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup, introduced last season saw an increased number of participants this year, especially from states like Mizoram. From among these skilled young participants, a rider will be chosen to represent India at the Red Bull Rookie Cup – Road to MotoGP in Spain.

The young boys raced fully race prepped Suzuki Gixxer SF providing them an unmatched racing experience and to treat the spectators with an up close international racing spectacle.

Both the races of The Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup races were won by Sri Lankan sensation Jaden Gunawardena. Jaden comfortably won the first round, beating the Mizoram duo of Lalhruaizela and Lalnunsanga, who secured the 2nd and 3rd place in the podium respectively. He had to fight harder for the second round, eventually outriding Varoon S of Chennai and Lalhruaizela of Mizoram. The battle to secure the second place in the podium was also a thrilling finish with Lalhruaizela falling short of Varoon S by a few hundredths of a second.

Joseph Mathew continued his good run from his last Gixxer Cup by securing the highest podium in both the races of JK Tyre- Suzuki Gixxer Cup. The 2nd position of Race 1 was won by Sanjeev Mhatre. The 3rd spot was a close encounter between two Mizoram riders, Lalmawipuia and Malsawmdawngliana, with the former emerging victorious in the end.

Race 2 of the JK Tyre-Suzuki Gixxer Cup Race was an incredible racing battle with 4 riders battling it out through the entire 10 laps. The positions were continuously changing right down to the finish line with Joseph Matthew finally clinching victory from Malsawmdawngliana and Lalmawipuia respectively within a gap of 0.7 seconds between the 3 riders.

The JK Tyre – Suzuki Gixxer Cup and Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup will return to the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore for Round 2 on the weekend of 4th – 6th August. There will be 4 rounds of the Suzuki Gixxer Cup from July to November at the 2 iconic venues of Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore and at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida.

The detailed race results of the JK Tyre – Suzuki Gixxer Cup and Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup are as follows:

  1. Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup Race 1
    Laps: 8
    1st: Jaden Gunawardena 12:27:473
    2nd: Lalhruaizela 12:36:345
    3rd: Lalnunsanga 12:46:451
    Best Lap: Jaden Gunawardena 1:26:012
  2. Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup Race 2
    Laps: 8
    1st: Jaden Gunawardena 11:47:188
    2nd: Varoon S 11:50:423
    3rd: Lalhruaizela 11:50:530
    Best Lap: Jaden Gunawardena 1:25:775
  3. Suzuki Gixxer Cup Race 1
    Laps: 10
    1st: Joseph Matthew 16:12:706
    2nd: Sanjeev Mhatre 16:15:402
    3rd: Lalmawipuia 16:19:831
    Best Lap: Joseph Matthew 1:24:597
  4. Suzuki Gixxer Cup Race 2
    Laps: 10
    1st: Joseph Matthew 14:27:607
    2nd: Malsawmdawngliana 14:27:856
    3rd: Lalmawipuia 14:28:355
    Best Lap: Sachin Chaudhary 1:24:514

JK Tyre presents Suzuki Gixxer Cup is organised under affiliation from the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India.