Honda racers steal the show at the season finale of National Championship

  • Rajiv Sethu closes this season emerging as champion in the Pro Stock 165 category
  • Anish D Shetty, Soorya P M and Piyush Ranjan finishes first, second & third respectively in CBR 150 Novice Championship
  • Mathana Kumar, Rajiv Sethu and Hari Krishnan finishes first, second & third respectively in CBR 250 Open Championship

Chennai, January 22, 2017: Sunday proved to be an action-packed conclusion to the season finale of National Championship which got underway at the Madras Motor Race Track, Chennai.

CBR 250R Open Championship results:

The grid for Honda’s flagship CBR 250R Team Championship saw India’s top notch 14 racers.

Mathana Kumar was dominant from start to finish during the season finale. Fighting a close battle, Rajiv Sethu stood second. Hari Krishnan rounded out the podium finishers and stood third after a long race-battle.

Congratulating the winners, Mr Prabhu Nagaraj, Vice President, Customer Service, HMSI said, “Our racers have performed tremendously in this round. My heartiest congratulations to Mathana Kumar, Rajiv and Hari Krishnan who topped the Championship table today. I am confident that we will witness some stellar performance by these riders in the next racing season”.

CBR 150R Novice category:

Marking his first championship, five time podium winner, Anish won the CBR 150R Novice Championship.  Soorya P M stood on the second position taking over his competitor Piyush Ranjan, who stood third in Champioship.

Honda racers make impressive strides in Open categories:

The Madras Motor Race Track also witnessed scintillating action in three new categories of National Championship – Stock up to 165cc, Pro Stock 165cc and Super Stock 165cc.

Leading from the pole position to the chequered flag, Rajiv Sethu Sethu from Honda Ten10 Racing Team rode his way to the championship in the Pro-Stock 165. Honda also won the manufacturer award in his category.