Dakar 2017 – Sherco TVS rider Aravind KP debuts on the ceremonial start podium

The ceremonial start ceremony to kick off Dakar 2017 was held on Sunday in Asucion, Paraguay. Sherco TVS Factory Rally Team rider Aravind KP (Race Number:77) made his debut on the podium where all the riders and drivers of the Dakar rally are introduced.

Speaking of his experience on the podium, Aravind KP says “After months of patiently waiting for this day to arrive, it was quite a surreal moment for me to stand there with my motorcycle at the Dakar flagoff ceremony. I am thankful to the entire team at TVS Racing & Sherco who have got me this far. I am looking forward to the first stage on Monday which is a short stage but will help me prepare for tougher stages ahead.”

318 vehicles (144 motorcycles, 37 quads, 87 cars including 10 SSVs, and 50 trucks) and a total of 501 competitors were cleared to start the 39th edition of the Dakar at the end of the technical and administrative scrutineering.

The drivers, riders and crews will go head-to-head on Monday in the rally’s only Paraguayan special, a 38.5 km stage.