Bloomberg TV India Autocar India Awards 2013 -14 salutes the Indian Automobile Industry

Ford EcoSport drives away with the ‘Car of the Year’ Award

~ KTM 390 Duke rides away with the ‘Bike of the Year’ Award 

Mumbai, December 20, 2013: Bloomberg TV India, the nation’s leading English business news channel and India’s definitive guide to the auto industry – Autocar India magazine today presented the ‘The Bloomberg TV India Autocar India Awards 2013 – 14’. The winners were felicitated at a glittering ceremony in Mumbai in the august presence of Hon’ble Union Cabinet Minister of Petroleum & Natural Gas Dr. M. Veerappa Moily, Mr.Gajendra Haldea, Advisor to DCH (Infrastructure), Planning Commission & elite list of personalities from the corporate world who came together, to salute achievers from the automotive sector. A total of 24 awards were given away across two and four wheeler segments. The Bloomberg TV India Autocar India Awards 2013-14 was presented by Reliance General Insuranceand powered by Mobile 1.

India accounts for about 10% of road crash fatalities worldwide. In terms of absolute numbers more fatal casualties come about in road crashes in India than anywhere else in the world. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), the death rate per 100,000 populations for road traffic accident has increased from 16.8 in 2009 to 18.9 in 2013. The Indian Auto industry has risen to the occasion by developing and using innovative technologies & processes for their productswhich has re-defined the concept of safety & protection in India’s automobile industry. The Awards celebrates the achievements of the sector.

At the awards, in the four wheeler segment, Ford EcoSport made a sensational debut by winning the ‘Car of the Year (Jury’s Choice), while Honda won the ‘Manufacturer of the Year’. In the two wheeler segment, KTM 390 Duke won the Bike of the Year (Jury’s Choice). The list of award winners across all categories is annexed.

Ms. Amrit Rai, Business Head – Bloomberg TV India while speaking about the Awards said, “As the leading business news channel we give viewers a clear understanding of various industry sectors. Both Bloomberg TV India and Autocar India – a mighty combination come together to present the most credible automotive awards in India today. With a dedicated team tracking, analyzing, de-mystifying the automotive sector for the Indian viewer & a commitment to present facts. These awards are indeed a result of the team’s year long efforts to present and celebrate excellence.

The Bloomberg TV India Autocar India Awards sets the standard for the Automotive Industry and honors the best-in class vehicles launched by the industry over the last one year. The winners were selected by an eminent jury on the basis of extensive & grueling track tests and a detailed methodology validated by knowledge partners KPMG.

The jury panel that selected the winners from the top contenders in each category comprised of experts like Hormazd Sorabjee (Editor – Autocar India); Renuka Kirpalani (Editor – Autocar show); Shapur Kotwal (Deputy Editor – Autocar India & Editor – What Car? India); Narain Karthikeyan (India’s first Formula 1 Driver); Kartikeya Singhee (Consultant Editor – Autocar Show); Manvendra Singh (India’s leading Automotive Historian & Restorer); Rishad Cooper (Two Wheeler Editor – Autocar India);C S Santosh (Motocross Rider). 

Mr. Hormazd Sorabjee, Editor – Autocar India, speaking at the award ceremony, said, “I am glad that over the last few years, the Autocar Awards have grown in stature, popularity and prominence. The Awards has always been a celebration of the best products of the year across the automobile industry. Today the Indian customer has the choice of the best cars, bikes and SUVs in the world equipped with advanced technology, which improves the performance, efficiency and safety of vehicles. It’s hard to find sub-standard vehicles these days and that makes the competition even tougher for us to judge. I am looking forward to some more exciting and award winning work next year.”

Mr. Rakesh Jain, CEO of Reliance General Insurance speaking about the Awards, said, “Safety and protection is a part of the vision and everyday thought process at Reliance General Insurance. As a major player in India’s general insurance industry, particularly in the ever growing auto sector we understand the significance of motor safety. We are proud of our association with Bloomberg TV India Autocar India Awards 2013-14. The award’s theme ‘Innovation in safety and protection’ is the need of the day. As an insurer we are doing our bit to promote safety through product innovations and careful process management. Through this award platform we want to create safety awareness amongst the customers and the industry.”

Mr. Daniel Tan, Chief Executive Officer, ExxonMobil Lubricants Private Limited, India speaking about the Awards, said, “It’s a pleasure for ExxonMobil to associate with the Bloomberg TV Autocar India Awards 2013. This award has set the benchmark in recognizing the most innovative, forward thinking and customer focused manufacturers in the Indian auto industry. These are values which we as a business share. Throughout the course of its 39-year history, Mobil 1 has been at the forefront of automotive lubrication innovation. Developed to meet or exceed industry standards, Mobil 1 is a world leader in the field of synthetic motor oil with an outstanding heritage to support both current products and new product development. We’re delighted to be supporting an award acknowledging the achievements of this vital and dynamic industry”.

A special episode on the Awards function will be telecast exclusively on Bloomberg TV India on 21st and 22nd Dec at 5 pm. 

About Bloomberg TV India:

Bloomberg TV India, nation’s leading English business news channel with unique access to newsmakers and research-based data, illuminates stories that affect companies and industries. Bloomberg TV India provides immediate perspective on critical business news as it happens, from where it happens. Backed by an enviable squad of Indian journalists, global network of 150 bureaus and 2500 professionals, we deliver the most credible insights to our viewers.

Bloomberg TV India’s focus on delivering breaking news and key insights aligns with Bloomberg’s overall goal of being the world’s most influential news organization. The core of the channel’s viewership is formed by influential leaders, business executives, and affluent professionals.

List of Categories and Winners


Bloomberg TV India Autocar India Awards 2013-14
Sr. No. Category name Winner name
1 Car of the year Ford EcoSport
2 Bike of the year KTM 390 Duke
3 Viewer’s Choice Car of the Year Ford Ecosport
4 Viewer’s Choice Bike of the Year Mahindra Centuro
5 Best design & Styling Mercedes Benz A-Class
6 Premium bike of the year Hyosung GV650 Aquila Pro
7 Import Bike of the year Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14R
8 Import Car of the year Range Rover Sport
9 Car dealer of the year Sai Service
10 Best Value for money Car Ford EcoSport
11 Best variant of the year Audi Q3 S
12 Car Manufacturer of the year Honda
13 Technology and Innovation award Ford (Sync with Emergency Assist)
14 Best Driver’s car BMW 1-Series
15 Performance Car of the year Porsche Cayman S
16 Entry / Budget Saloon car of the Year Honda Amaze
17 Compact Car of the Year Hyundai Grand i10
18 Compact Luxury Car of the Year BMW 1-Series
19 SUV of the Year Ford EcoSport
20 Premium SUV of the Year Mercedes Benz GL-Class
21 MPV of the Year Chevrolet Enjoy
22 Engine of the Year Ford 1.0 Eco Boost (Ford Ecosport)
23 Green Car of the Year Mahindra E20
24 Innovation in Safety and Protection Volvo City Safety